Find A Photographer Find An Assistant Join ASMP Join the Mailing List

Press Release

June 10, 2015


American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP)
Thomas R. Kennedy, Executive Director
Phone: 215-451-2767


Eiler Receives ASMP's Susan Carr Educator Prize

Philadelphia, PA… The American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP), the premier trade association for professional still and motion photographers, has awarded the 3rd annual Susan Carr Educator Prize to Terrill (Terry) E. Eiler for his significant contributions to the education of photography students and professional photographers. Created in 2013, the $2500.00 Prize honors the memory of former ASMP Education Director Susan Carr, whose commitment to clarifying business practices through conferences, seminars, books and tutorials helped thousands of working photographers build successful careers.


The selection committee included Jeff Curto, Professor Emeritus of Photography at College of DuPage; Steve Bliss, Dean of the School of Fine Arts at Savannah College of Art & Design; and Lauren Wendle, VP/Publisher of Photo District News/Emerald Expo. ASMP Executive Tom Kennedy notes, "It was my privilege to work with Susan Carr as a keynote speaker for the Strictly Business 3 conference she organized. Terry Eiler's dedication to his students and our industry exemplifies the excellence in service to others that Susan embodied."


A field researcher, magazine photographer, and documentary photojournalist, Eiler joined Ohio University's School of Art photography program in 1974. He subsequently co-founded the Institute of Visual Communications, now the School of Visual Communication in the Scripps College of Communication at Ohio University, with Charles L. Scott, where he is now Professor Emeritus. The school has twice been named a Program of Excellence by the State of Ohio.


Eiler has also served as the chair of the academic advisory board for the Salt Center for documentary studies in Portland, Maine and is the director of the annual Scotland Field School in Documentary Photojournalism. In 1993, he was presented Ohio University's Alumni Teaching Excellence award. In 1994, he was named the Kodak Professor to Australia. In 2006, he was awarded the Robert F. Garland award for education and in 2010, he was selected to serve on the Edom Foundation for Photojournalism, which emphasizes social justice and "Truth with a Camera Workshops." He currently serves as the chair of the Athens Photographic Project, which helps adults with mental illness use photography as a creative tool.


Of this most recent addition to his lengthy list of accomplishments, Eiler says "I am grateful and surprised by the honor of the Susan Carr Education Prize." He adds, "Students today are just as passionate about photography and creative visual work as we all were in the days of film only. The business of image making has been disrupted, but the passion has not."


Examples of Eiler's impressive body of work can be found in the U.S. National Archives Documerica Flickr page.


About ASMP

ASMP is a well-known leader on current issues, regularly representing the industry on legislative matters nationally and internationally, and providing members with state-of-the-art information and education. Over 7,000 strong with 39 chapters throughout the country, members range from students to professionals working in still photography and motion in a variety of specialty areas. ASMP is a community of forward thinking professionals and its members include the world's foremost visual artists.