Find A Photographer Find An Assistant Join ASMP Join the Mailing List

Press Release

April 19, 2010


Eugene H. Mopsik, Executive Director
American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP)
Phone: 215 451 2767


ASMP Elects New Board Officers, Directors

Philadelphia, PA… The American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP) has announced that Richard Kelly, a Pittsburgh-based corporate and editorial photographer and owner of Richard Kelly Photography, has been re-elected as President for the 2010 - 11 year. Serving as First Vice-President is James Cavanaugh of James Cavanaugh Photography in Buffalo; as Second Vice-President, Gail Mooney of Kelly/Mooney Productions in Brookside, NJ; as Treasurer, Todd Joyce of Joyce Photography in Cincinnati; and as Secretary, Shawn Henry of Boston-based Shawn G. Henry Photographer.


In addition, new Board directors for the year include Kevin Lock of San Diego-based Kevin Lock Photography; Joseph Pobereskin of Joseph Pobereskin Photography in Deerfield, IL; and Steve Whittaker of Whittaker Photography in Foster City, CA. ASMP is the premier trade association for photographers who create images primarily for publication, and the association is a leader in providing professional photographers with business education and protecting their rights.


According to Richard Kelly, "We are grateful for the strong organizational leadership provided by these new officers and directors. We look forward to a dynamic year ahead as ASMP continues to be an effective and vital advocate for our members' interests in these changing times."


Founded in 1944, ASMP is the leader in promoting photographers' rights, providing education in better business practices, producing business publications for photographers, and helping to connect purchasers with professional photographers. ASMP has 39 chapters across the country and its members include many of the world's foremost photographers.


More information is available at